Friday, May 09, 2008

Mission: Russia - series by Susan May Warren - Review

I have always enjoyed a good Christian thriller, but I was surprised how riveted I was in the series Mission: Russia by Susan May Warren. I have read the first 2 and am excitedly awaiting the release of the third book, due to come out June 1st, 2008.

In Sheep's Clothing (Mission: Russia #1)
by Susan May Warren
Softcover, Steeple Hill, 2005
ISBN 0373785445
336 pages

In the first book In Sheep’s Clothing Gracie is ending her two year stay in Russia discouraged and convinced of her failure as a missionary. Days before her flight home, Gracie discovers her friends murdered in their apartment. Scared and seemingly abandoned in a country where the powerful prey on the weak, Gracie uncovers a Russia she never knew existed. At the mercy of the Russian KGB agent investing the case, Gracie can only turn to God for peace.

Vicktor Shubnikov, has reasons of his own to be interested in the murder surrounding Gracie. Victor has spent years chasing the illusion of a man called Wolf, getting close but never close enough. He slipped through Vicktor’s fingers once before, and it’s only a matter of time before he kills again.

Together with a group of friends Gracie and Vicktor struggle to discover the medical secret Wolf is after before they lose their hearts to each other or Gracie’s life to the Wolf.

Sands of Time (Mission: Russia #2)
by Susan May Warren
Softcover, Steeple Hill, 2006
ISBN 0373785682
304 pages

In the second book, Sands of Time, we follow Sarai Curtiss who has been in Russia for the past two years as a medical missionary. When the son of Govenor Bednov dies of an unexplainable sickness and a village child dies a few days later of the same sickness, Sarai is determined to discover what is going on.

Complications arise as Govenor Bednov; a former Communist and his party, overthrow the government in a bloody coup. He demands that all foreigners leave under punishment of death, but Sarai is dedicated to the hospital she has worked so hard establishing and the mystery of the sickness that has killed 2 children already.

In enters Cobra Captain Roman Novik, a man who broke Sarai’s heart 13 years ago. He’s familiar with Sarai’s stubbornness and will stop at nothing to see to her safety – even if it means going AWOL and facing prison if he’s found out.
Roman and Sarah race against time to unravel a mystery while Russia unravels around them.

Here is a summary from Ms. Warren website of the third book in the series entitled Wiser Than Serpents due to come out June 1, 2008.

Wiser Than Serpents (Mission: Russia #3)
by Susan May Warren
softcover, Steeple Hill, 2008
ISBN 0373786204
352 pages

When her sister vanishes into a human slave ring, FSB agent Yanna Andrevka is determined to rescue her. Unfortuantely, she's in over her head, with no way out, especially after destroying the undercover operation of Delta Force Operative David Curtiss, who is deep undercover in the Twin Serpents crime syndicate. David has his hands full trying to save Yanna, and his operation -- one that could rescue hundreds of women from the Serpent, or cost he and Yanna their lives. The thrilling next chapter of the Mission:Russia series!

Susan May Warren grew up in Wayzata, Minnesota and lives once again in Minnesota after she and her Husband and four children served as missionaries in Khabarovsk, Russia. You can find her at